Chamber News

Slate of Nominees to the Chamber Board of Directors - Right of Petition
Published: Friday, September 15, 2017
By: Randy Allen

Date:   September 14, 2017

From: Janet Weckenborg, Board Chair

TO:      All Chamber Members

RE:       Slate of Nominees to the Board of Directors and Right of Petition

Please find below the Slate of Nominees that will be presented to the Board of Directors for approval. This slate was prepared by the Nominating Committee.

Following the Slate of Nominees, you will find the procedure for nominating additional names of candidates and the election procedure according to the By-laws.

Slate of Nominees to serve a three-year term beginning in 2018:

     Amelia Boyd, St. Mary's Health Center
     Jason Cecil, Missouri Bar Association
     Morgan Delong Costello, Delongs Inc.
     Terry Donner,  Scholastic Inc
     Shawn Strong,  State Technical College of MO
     Chris Wood, Jefferson Bank

Chad Stieferman, JC Police Department, will be the 2018 Leadership JC Representative

Holly Nunn, Central Bank, will be the 2018 Young Professionals (YP) Representative

Many thanks to the nominating committee:

Jeff Davidson, Modern Litho Print Co., Chairman, 2018 Board Nominating Committee
Adrian Branch, Central Bank
Kathy Graessle, Williams Keepers
Carlos Graham, Lincoln University
Stephanie Lehmen, C&S Business Services
Mark Mueller, Jefferson Bank
Donna Viessman, Imagemark Marketing and Advertising


Excerpts from Bylaws regarding Board of Director Nominating Procedure:

Article V; Section 4;

  d.     Within five (5) days after receipt of the Nominating Committee's report, the Chairman of the Board shall notify the Chamber membership of the names of the slate of six (6) nominated candidates and shall further notify the membership of their right of petition as hereinafter provided.

  e.     Additional names of candidates for Directors can be nominated by petition having the genuine signatures of at least twenty-five (25) members of the Chamber in good standing if the candidate's willingness to accept directorship responsibilities has been determined in advance. Such petition shall be limited to one nomination and filed with the President within ten (10) days after notice has been given of the names of those nominated.  The determination of the Nominating Committee as to the legality of the petition (2) shall be final. 

  f.    In the event that no additional names of candidates for Directors are nominated through the petition process as described in paragraph (e.) of this section, the six (6) Directors presented by the Nominating Committee will be elected by acclamation by the Chamber membership

  g.    In the event that additional candidates are nominated as a result of the petition process described in paragraph (e.) of this section, the names of all candidates shall be arranged on an official ballot in alphabetical order. The ballot shall be mailed to all Chamber members in good standing within five (5) days after the designated petition period.  The ballots shall be marked in accordance with instructions printed on the ballot and returned to the Chamber office within ten (10) days.

  h.    An Election Committee, composed of at least three (3) members of the Chamber in good standing, shall be appointed by the Chairman of the Board to count and tabulate the official ballots, and certify the results to the Board.  All improperly marked ballots shall not be counted and the six (6) candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected.  In case of a tie in the last place, the decision shall be by lot of the Election Committee.  Ballots shall be kept for a period of thirty (30) days and shall be open to inspection by any candidate or other Chamber members.

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Jefferson City Area Chamber of Commerce ©2020. Website by Accrisoft
Contact Us!