Chamber News

Community leaders recognized at Chamber’s “Roaring into 2020” Annual Gala & Awards Ceremony
Published: Saturday, February 1, 2020

Several prestigious awards were presented at the Chamber’s 127th Annual Gala “Roaring into 2020” held January 24.  The Gala was attended by about 720 people. 

Congratulations to the award recipients: Charlie Christiansen who owns River Park development which houses multiple businesses including Big Whiskey’s, received the Fast Forward Award; Jason Otke, Dick Otke Construction Co., received the Chairman’s Award;  Ann Bax, United Way of Central Missouri received the Chamber Meritorious Civic Service Award and Sharon Naught, Naught-Naught Insurance Agency, and community philanthropist received the William W. Quigg Leadership Award.

2020 Chamber Chair, Darren Heckman, outlined his goals for the Chamber in the upcoming year for the Chamber’s “JCMO Strategy”, the community development plan for future economic growth. 

Mayor Carrie Tergin outlined several key projects in the works for our city including the redevelopment of the land at former Missouri State Penitentiary; rebuilding Capitol Avenue, and accessing the riverfront with the Bicentennial Bridge to Adrian’s Island which would showcase Jefferson City’s history with displays and would lead to a river-front park near the State Capitol.

The festivities continued with recognition of retiring officers, board members and other Chamber volunteers for their service to the Chamber and the community.  Retiring board members include Spencer Allen, St. Joseph Cathedral School; Karen Enloe, JCPS Foundation; Jason Schwartz, Hawthorn Bank; James Stark, Stark Construction Services; Melissa Dunn, Young Professionals Representative; Brandon Johns, Align Chiropractic Clinic & Leadership Jefferson City Representative.

Retiring officers: David Minton, Central Bank, Chairman 2019; Jason Otke, Dick Otke Construction Co., Treasurer 2019; and Bill Plank, NH Scheppers, Chairman Emeritus 2019.

There are many outstanding businesses in this community whose contributions over the years have made it a wonderful place to work and live.  Several businesses were recognized for celebrating “milestone anniversaries” DeLong’s Inc., 75 years and Action Realty 35 years.  The evening concluded music by The Cherry Pistols and dancing.

Special thanks to emcee Lt. Dave Williams, Jefferson City Police Department and to the Gala Committee chaired by Jayne Dunkmann, Jefferson Bank of Missouri and Amber Brondel, United Way of Central Missouri.

 “The Chamber Gala was a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the people making a lasting impact on our community.  These are the people make Jefferson City a better place, a place we love to call home,”  said Susan Neill Dawdy, Director of Membership & Special Events for the Chamber.




Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Jefferson City Area Chamber of Commerce ©2020. Website by Accrisoft
Contact Us!